OK.. do any of you all feed like this?

Discussion in 'Ask The (wannabe) Vets & Farriers' started by AKPonygirl, Feb 7, 2009.

1. AKPonygirl

AKPonygirl New Member

"High quality & well fertilized. Proven reputation. Large square bales 3'x3'x8' weighing 800 lbs. Can be picked up at farm for $300 per ton or $120 per bale. Also available at K Bar D in Fairbanks (456-2668) with added cost for freight. We can deliver in truck load quantities. Ward Farms 895-5415"

http://anchorage.craigslist.org/grd/1007698792.html

Do those big bales have flakes? Would they be too big to deal with for just one or two horses?

2. Imzadi

Imzadi New Member

Main problem is having a way to move them around because of the weight. I have a skid loader, so for us it is easy. Very easy to store in the barn, it has tripled the amount of storage in comparison to round bales. I have stacked them 6/7 high. We feed them as flakes, 2x a day...just def more messy than small squares and heavier. This is my first year using them, the only change is that next year I think that I will buy a small quantity of small squares...for the convenience when trail riding/horse shows.

3. Tbitt

Tbitt Most beloved member of MW

I have a girlfriend who uses them. she says they do flake out well - but with her's each flake is about the size of a regular small square bale.... :eek: :-[

They pull off a "flake" or two, put it in the back of their gator and off they go!

4. JZ

JZ New Member

We fed them one winter-we paid someone to custom bale for us. The flakes we pulled off were the equivalent of 4 or so flakes from small square bales. We kept a bale outside, tarped, while we fed from it, then replaced it when it ran out. We have a tractor with a loader/hay forks, so we were able to move them around.

They were fine, but the next year we bought a round baler, so we use those now.